Thread Rating:
  • 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average
Hello! Junior seeking guidance
Hello everyone!

I am an absolute newbie - to both the forum and to BMWs in general. I've read through a number of threads here and am blown away by the friendliness and sense of community you have here.

I was hoping you guys could help me. I am a young guy who wants to get into cars. I don't know much but am eager to learn. I am starting a new job in JHB next year and am considering buying a new car. I have a soft spot for older cars, and have been eyeing a 1980s 635 CSi (E24). 

I have a few questions regarding this beauty and was hoping you might be able to shed some light on the subject. I was wondering whether this will be a good daily driver? I will need a reliable car next year. Secondly, do you have any idea how much I should expect to pay for one of these? I have seen some online ranging from R200k to R500k. I definitely cannot afford a R500k car, but would a R200k option likely be in good nick? Thirdly, what should I look out for when buying a 635? I have read a number of articles and watched a few YouTube videos on the possible rust issues, but beyond that am unsure.

I would appreciate any help or guidance you can offer!

Cheers!
Wow, dude, having been a BMW Fanatic for as long as I can remember what I know of the 635's is they are rare (in good condition) and possibly even considered a collector's item, especially if it's a  CSI or CSL. My advice;
Look for a sub 150 - 200k kms E46 or E90, in any fuel variant, preferably with little to no obvious repair work, some sort of service history and that you can go test drive.

I know they aren't considered oldies yet but there are still a lot of clean, reliable cars around.

Imo a 6 series of that era would be a weekend car and expensive to maintain as a daily.
Tomorrow never stays and yesterday is just a page in the book of life.
Do and enjoy what you wish!

Ex - Formula M C Class
Ex - Formula M B Class
Ex - OPEL Corsa (B) GSi  > 1994