Thread Rating:
  • 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average
Coilovers Vs. Shocks - E46 330i Sport Pack
05-11-2019, 01:40 PM (This post was last modified: 05-11-2019 01:45 PM by KPM_330.)
lightbulb Coilovers Vs. Shocks - E46 330i Sport Pack
Hey Gents,

The time has come for me to look at sorting out my 330i suspension. Having done 265k on the original components, I think they have more than earned a replacement.. The reason for the thread is to understand which route I should pursue, coilovers vs. shocks.

I had initially looked at replacing the below items:

Control Arms
Control Arm Bushes
Stabilizer/Sway Bar Links
Rack Ends
Tie-rod Ends
Shocks
Springs (I was considering keeping my old springs, as I don't want the car any lower than it already is).

One of my mates then suggested I look at coilovers, since I am doing a whole suspension refresh.. Which has prompted this thread, as I am no expert on the subject at hand. As I understood, coilovers were more for adjusting ride heights and associated settings, which I am not too concerned with.

My budget was around R15k for the suspension refresh, but this could go up or down, based on the inputs. Essentially looking for the best bang for my buck, as all maintenance is now a black-hole given market values on the car.

The car is not a daily driver and is usually driven once a week, on a long-ish hoon, so ride quality isn't the most important attribute.. More focused on handling and chuckability..

Any and all insight, comments and expertise is welcomed. If you have approximate costings, that would help immensely.

Hoping to hear from those that have wisdom on the subject matter.. Thumbs

@AdiS, @Tinuva, @Peter@AEW, @Riaad, @that_guy_Ettiene

Find all posts by this user
Like Post Quote this message in a reply
05-11-2019, 01:42 PM
RE: Coilovers Vs. Shocks - E46 330i Sport Pack