Thread Rating:
  • 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average
Oil Issues
11-04-2019, 11:03 AM
Oil Issues
So being swamped with work and finishing of my M.Eng dissertation, I decided to book my E90 320D with 160xxxkm in at a dealership for it's oil service. After getting the car back, I studied the invoice and I notice that they used Rimula L 15w40 oil. After checking the user manual I'm now convinced that this is the "incorrect" (read that with a pinch of salt) grade oil. A quick look at the data sheet, indicates this specific oil is recommended for use in agricultural and construction vehicles which have lower tolerances between parts.

The helpful customer relations lady calls the workshop foreman who confirms that they used "thicker" oil because of the mileage and that the oil recommended in the user manual is for "newer" diesel engines. Still not convinced, I demanded that they put it in writing that should something go wrong, I'm not liable for any costs. Anyway long story short, I left the dealership and this morning on start up there's already a knocking sound (quite like noisy tappets, for lack of a better comparison), which disappeared after a few seconds. Apart from that there's a distinct whining sound after the car reached what I would assume to operating temperature, should I be concerned? Hammerhead Mind you I was nursing it between 1200-2000 RPM.

[Image: engine_bay_1_8592559248.jpg]
Find all posts by this user
Like Post Quote this message in a reply
11-04-2019, 11:11 AM (This post was last modified: 11-04-2019 11:12 AM by Riaad.)
RE: Oil Issues