Thread Rating:
  • 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average
320i to 3uz conversion
11-08-2018, 05:49 AM
320i to 3uz conversion
Hello all bmmaniacs .
I recently started playing with the idea of changing my stock n46 engine and box for a 3uz and five speed auto box.
As you can imagine I do have a lot of questions regarding the engine swap.
As I am very new to this site and did not have time to read thru all the threats I would like to know if anyone here has done the conversion and if so what advice and pointers can you give me?
A little history of my car.
It is a 2006 320i.
It has 276000 kilos on the dial.
A while ago I noticed that on my way to drop the kids at school as I am driving up an incline I had to change down from sixth gear to fifth gear.
Then after a while I noticed that I had to gear down to fourth just to maintain speed.
Previously I could just fly up the incline without changing whilst maintaining momentum.
This gradual loss of power prompted me to pull the engine and do a complete overhaul.
I changed everything from timing chain and guides to valvetronic gears to solenoids.
Not even sure if that was necessary .
Rings ,bearings and gaskets was also replaced.
I am happy to report that The engine is even better now than when I bought the car with 145000km on the clock.
However I do wish for a more powerful motor and after researching the net for a while I came across a relatively affordable option in the guise of the 3uz engine and box.
I am sure that I will be crucified by the purists amongst you, however the reliability and affordability of the 3uz combined with the amount of power that it packs is the driving force behind this.
Has anybody done it.
What troubles could I encounter?
Please let me know where to go look for more reading on this exhange
Find all posts by this user
Like Post Quote this message in a reply
11-08-2018, 07:07 AM
RE: 320i to 3uz conversion