Thread Rating:
  • 3 Vote(s) - 2.33 Average
Shudder when braking
13-01-2018, 01:50 PM
Shudder when braking
Hi guys. It's me and my car again. I have E90 2011 320i. I am no master mechanic, but I know my way around toolbox. a Few days ago I did a major service on her , including front and rear... pads, discs and shocks. In all honesty I have never done discs on my vehicle before...pads only. The problem I have now is that when slowing down from high speeds(no heavy braking) there is a heavy shudder coming from the front brakes. Can anyone please shed some light for me. It's busy driving me insanerage
Find all posts by this user
Like Post Quote this message in a reply
13-01-2018, 03:06 PM
RE: Shudder when braking
Brand new disks ?
Which make of disks ?
Brand new pads ?
Which make of pads ?

Shuddering when braking tells me that either

1) The disks are warrped
2) Inferior disk material, and/or inferior brake pads (bad quality)
3) The combination of Disk and Pads were not "RUN-IN" after fitment
...run in has to be done on cold brakes..heat generation is your enemy

4) At worst the re-assembly was not done incorrectly, and something was not tighned properly.....but unlikely

/o(O)(O) \ (lllllllll)(lllllllll) / (O)(O)o\

https://www.facebook.com/ralf.t.schulz
Visit this user's website Find all posts by this user
13-01-2018, 03:55 PM
(13-01-2018 03:06 PM)Ralf* Wrote:  Brand new disks ?
Which make of disks ?
Brand new pads ?
Which make of pads ?

Shuddering when braking tells me that either

1) The disks are warrped
2) Inferior disk material, and/or inferior brake pads (bad quality)
3) The combination of Disk and Pads were not "RUN-IN" after fitment
...run in has to be done on cold brakes..heat generation is your enemy

4) At worst the re-assembly was not done incorrectly, and something was not tighned properly.....but unlikely