Thread Rating:
  • 17 Vote(s) - 2.29 Average
E46 Harman Kardon system retrofit ..
22-03-2015, 06:20 AM
E46 Harman Kardon system retrofit ..
Hi Guys

This is my first time posting an Audio thread, Im a little clueless when it comes to sound though im willing to learn.

I Have a Harman Kardon system from an E46 individual that I would like to retro fit into my E46 which has the standard sound system.

I know , iv heard many time that its to costly , time consuming , not worth the effort, there are better aftermarket replacements speakers out there etc etc but I have the system and have the time , So would like to fit it to my car .
Also... I really prefer keeping my car as original as possible , I have heard the system in another car and its more then enough for me.

This is what I have .

Complete wiring harness , all doors (in fact I have the complete door harness for each door) as well as the main wiring loom that goes from the head unit to the amp .
10 speakers including the two subs with the little amp
Main amp that fits below the CD shuttle
Spatulizer Button and console that goes onto the dash.

To my knowledge ,
I am missing the two speakers that sit on the rear shelf.

I'm not sure if there's anything else missing , though if there is , i can easily get it .

Can you guys tell me , How exactly does the system "hook up"

Iv layed out the complete system, attaching each piece to their respective wires and everything does fit .

How does the system get its power? Is it fed from the head? If so should there be a wire going from the head unit connector (plastic piece that attaches to the head) to the fuse box?

How does the amp get its power? Is there supposed to be a wire going from the amp to the fuse box? Or a wire going directly to the battery ?

As im missing the two speakers from the shelf , Can I use my existing "standard" shelf speakers in their place?