Thread Rating:
  • 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average
E39 530d - what can one do in case of engine runaway
14-06-2011, 07:41 PM
E39 530d - what can one do in case of engine runaway
Have read about and even saw a video clip about an X5 diesel engine destroying itself because of engine oil entering the turbo. As i have both a E39 530d and X5 3l diesel, is there any suggestions as to what to do in case this should happen?
I see P1000 mentioned keeping a fire extinguisher in the car in case of such a senario, but what do you do if the paw-paw hits the fan?
Find all posts by this user
Add Thank You Quote this message in a reply
14-06-2011, 07:48 PM
RE: E39 530d - what can one do in case of engine runaway
sit and watch and tape it...diesel will continue to detonate until fuel runs out nothing you can do - it wont burn so dont fear.
But its a very rare occurrence - my old man is a diesel mech by trade and has never seen it happen in his lifetime all 75 years of it..

Black Beauty....Z4 M Coupe, once U go Coupe you cant go back. Bluebiggrin
07 Polo Tdi - 96 kw + Revo = grunt
07 A4 Tdi - 125kw+++ added some extra Ponies via software + decat = EGR & DPF delete Cartel
14-06-2011, 10:04 PM
One could argue that you could spray the CO2 extinguisher into the air intake to smother the engine, but unless decently applied this will not work (as proven by Mythbusters Bluebiggrin ) or secondly hit the handbrake, footbrake and try to stall in 2nd gear, but you risk buggering the gearbox/clutch too.

[Image: traffic-03.gif][Image: HELLASNCSIG1.jpg]
Herman 2003 320d
14-06-2011, 10:24 PM (This post was last modified: 14-06-2011 10:25 PM by Ralf@Speedway Motorsport.)
(14-06-2011 10:04 PM)Hellas Wrote:  One could argue that you could spray the CO2 extinguisher into the air intake to smother the engine, but unless decently applied this will not work (as proven by Mythbusters Bluebiggrin ) or secondly hit the handbrake, footbrake and try to stall in 2nd gear, but you risk buggering the gearbox/clutch too.