Thread Rating:
  • 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average
BMW E90 320i performance upgrades
12-09-2010, 09:14 PM
BMW E90 320i performance upgrades
Hi guys,

I took delivery of a 2005 E90 320i last Friday and so far I'm loving it. Went from a Corolla 140i 2003 ! The difference is simply outstanding and I can't imagine going back to a Corolla, or equivalent.

Just wanted to find out about performance enhancements. Is there anything I can do to increase the speed of this car ? Would it make a decent improvement or subtle ? The thing is, at the moment, the speed for me is great, much MUCH faster than the 140i it replaced, obviously, but if I could improve speed further it would be added bonus.

Since I'm new to BMW, any advice would be appreciated. Thanks again.

BMW E90 320i (05)
Ex Toyota Corolla 140i (03)
Ex Toyota Conquest 130i (85)
Find all posts by this user
Add Thank You Quote this message in a reply
[-] The following 1 user says Thank You to Olorin for this post:
suhla (09-09-2012)
20-09-2010, 01:08 PM
RE: BMW E90 320i performance upgrades
Best advice I can give is exhaust and intake system, although the gains you'll get will be minimal. Perhaps chipping it could unleash some horses.

Otherwise, the other option would've been to look for a 323i or 325i.

I must say that all BMW engines are pretty good stock, especially their N/A ones.

130i M-Sport: Alpine Upgrade, BMWP Intake.
Corsa C Ute 2l 16v Tebbo Bluebiggrin : Build Thread Here
22-09-2010, 01:01 PM (This post was last modified: 22-09-2010 01:02 PM by Olorin.)
I think my original claim of the 320i being MUCH faster than my 140i was a little exaggerated. While it is faster, it doesn't feel much quicker. I suppose credit should be given to the Corolla's 1.4 74 kw engine. But after driving for a while, I just notice that the car isn't as quick as the specs suggest,(ie 110 kw and 200 nm of torque).